Lady Gaga brought Benjamin Rollins Caldwell to the attention of the masses, by sitting starkers on a piece of his bespoke furniture for the front cover of her new album, Art Pop. The chair her pert bottom rests upon makes up part of Rollins Caldwell’s Binary collection, a series of bespoke furniture pieces all of which are covered in a collage of 100% recycled motherboards and computer chips from old computers sourced from offices, abandoned warehouses and schools.

Although some of his pieces would never make an appearance in my sitting room, I love what this guy does. His use of recycled materials and the lengths he goes to accumulate them are inspiring. I have pasted my favourite piece of his below, a chair constructed out of old piano keys.

“Sometimes the objects I discover simply inspire an overall design idea and other times the objects actually become the raw material for the piece”. Benjamin Rollins Caldwell

 

All images from brcdesigns.com

