Other than the Selfridges shop window designs, nothing generally grabs my attention when walking down Oxford Street. This morning however, was a different story. Bershka, (a shop I visited once to never return again) had in it’s front window a picture of a geometric dress which looked to be made out of folded paper; a piece so striking I got off the bus to take a closer look. The designer was Jule Waibel. I know, I’d never heard of her/him either.

Jule Waibel is a London and Stuttgart based German designer. She studied product design at the German University of Applied Sciences and in 2011 moved to London to study an MA in Design Products at the Royal College of Art graduating in 2013. Waibel´s work is influenced by the geometry and simplicity of the Bauhaus. She combines objects, fashion and performance with a focus on geometric shapes. With her two brothers, Waibel founded clothing and lifestyle label VIOVIO ltd. where she acts as fashion designer and art director for the brand.

The image that caught my eye this morning was of a piece taken from her “Entfaltung (unfold/expand/develop): 25 dresses for 25 cities” collection for Bershka. Check out the images and blurb for the collection below. I’m obsessed.

Collapsible structures reflect how our world is constantly changing. My response is to use folding as part of my design process. A particular folding technique can transform simple sheet materials into three-dimensional objects, with the additional capability that they can expand and contract. A dress which changes its shape according to the movement of the body, an expandable bag and an umbrella are all made of Tyvek®, a lightweight water- and tear-proof synthetic paper. The project celebrates the beauty to be found between geometry, transformation and play. Their elegance, efficiency and beauty enhances my life on the move.








All images taken from http://julewaibel.com/

